Author Topic: Aura  (Read 25211 times)

iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Aura
« Reply #60 on: May 30, 2017, 07:19:00 PM »
The gloss/shine effect can be done via an overlay, no need to convert any media surely?
@JonahUK exactly ;)

Agent47

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Aura
« Reply #61 on: May 30, 2017, 07:26:30 PM »
Ah, yeah it makes sense now. I imagine the blur could be a bit tricky to do on the fly without taking a performance hit.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Aura
« Reply #62 on: May 30, 2017, 08:20:26 PM »
I'm certainly willing to look into on the fly effects, but it would take a powerful CPU, and even then it may not be fast enough to make it look good.

makaveeti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Aura
« Reply #63 on: May 30, 2017, 09:08:37 PM »
Hey igarikoitz,

I absolutely love the theme you created. It is what I am trying to achieve in terms of a layout. i.e. All the games on the home screen and then a preview window of the game details upon selection. Unfortunately my XML skills are very poor as I've attempted to build my own with very little success. If possible can you share your theme with me in it's current state for me to use? Feel free to PM me.

iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Aura
« Reply #64 on: June 03, 2017, 10:41:59 AM »
@makaveeti, I have to improve some details before publishing the skin. This will take some time, because I am very perfectionist.

@Pieter Hulshoff Two things:
  • There is a problem when using multiple <menu menuIndex = "0">, it sounds "highlight.wav" as many times as you have used <menu menuIndex = "0">, distorting that sound.
    I think you will have to modify the code, so that it sounds only once "highlight.wav" even if you use more than one <menu menuIndex = "0">.
  • I've thought of a way for everyone to edit the information on the controls screen using plain text. I just need you to create these tags for use in hyperlist xml files:

    <ButtonA>
    <ButtonAText>

    <ButtonB>
    <ButtonBText>

    <ButtonX>
    <ButtonXText>

    <ButtonY>
    <ButtonYText>

    <ButtonGuide>
    <ButtonGuideText>

    <ButtonMenu>
    <ButtonMenuText>

    <ButtonView>
    <ButtonViewText>

    <Dpad>
    <DpadText>

    <DpadUp>
    <DpadUpText>

    <DpadDown>
    <DpadDownText>

    <DpadLeft>
    <DpadLeftText>

    <DpadRight>
    <DpadRightText>

    <LeftStick>
    <LeftStickText>

    <LeftStickClick>
    <LeftStickClickText>

    <LeftStickUp>
    <LeftStickUpText>

    <LeftStickDown>
    <LeftStickDownText>

    <LeftStickLeft>
    <LeftStickLeftText>

    <LeftStickRight>
    <LeftStickRightText>

    <RightStick>
    <RightStickText>

    <RightStickClick>
    <RightStickClickText>

    <RightStickUp>
    <RightStickUpText>

    <RightStickDown>
    <RightStickDownText>

    <RightStickLeft>
    <RightStickLeftText>

    <RightStickRight>
    <RightStickRightText>

    <LeftBumper>
    <LeftBumperText>

    <LeftTrigger>
    <LeftTriggerText>

    <RightBumper>
    <RightBumperText>

    <RightTrigger>
    <RightTriggerText>

If point 2 works as I expect, I have also thought of a better clean way of implementing it in the retrofe code to make it a standard and that all designers and users can use it in comfort.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Aura
« Reply #65 on: June 03, 2017, 12:53:58 PM »
I will check the code, and fix the sound issue.

With regards to the tags: perhaps I should allow for info.conf files per game. That removes the need for updated xml every time someone wants a new tag, keeps the database small, and is much more flexible.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


NeoID

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Aura
« Reply #66 on: June 03, 2017, 01:28:24 PM »
You really only need to apply blur (1 image) and greyscale (1 image) effect. I would like it to do so by code of the layout, but for now it can not  :(

For my theme (RetroBox) I've made a small python script that automatically creates the required images for the menu wheel. In my case a composition between cover, title, genre and player count. It creates about 100k images for me this way in a short period of time. I could easily make the same for you if that helps. Just let me know. Love you theme and look forward to be able to test it if you care to share :)

iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Aura
« Reply #67 on: June 03, 2017, 02:16:50 PM »
@Pieter Hulshoff info.conf files per game is a very good idea. With this I could create my own tags, or also need to implement them by code?

@NeoID Thanks for the offer, but at the moment I do not need to create images in this way, since I load those images and the text using xml code.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Aura
« Reply #68 on: June 03, 2017, 04:20:51 PM »
You can define your own tags, just like you can for collections.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Aura
« Reply #69 on: June 03, 2017, 04:54:00 PM »
@Pieter Hulshoff How can I create info.conf per game? for example:

Game name: "Super mario bros.nes"
Game info: "Super mario bros.conf" inside the folder of the collection

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Aura
« Reply #70 on: June 03, 2017, 06:51:08 PM »
It's not a feature yet, but I propose putting that .conf file in the medium_artwork/info/ directory.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Aura
« Reply #71 on: June 03, 2017, 07:07:36 PM »
It's not a feature yet, but I propose putting that .conf file in the medium_artwork/info/ directory.
Good idea  ;)

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Aura
« Reply #72 on: June 07, 2017, 03:48:02 PM »
  • There is a problem when using multiple <menu menuIndex = "0">, it sounds "highlight.wav" as many times as you have used <menu menuIndex = "0">, distorting that sound.
    I think you will have to modify the code, so that it sounds only once "highlight.wav" even if you use more than one <menu menuIndex = "0">.

Let me know if 0.8.7 solves this issue: http://retrofe.nl/SMF/index.php?topic=177.msg1884#msg1884

iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Aura
« Reply #73 on: June 08, 2017, 06:15:22 AM »
Let me know if 0.8.7 solves this issue: http://retrofe.nl/SMF/index.php?topic=177.msg1884#msg1884
Problem solved  ;). Waiting for the implementation of info files per game

iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Aura
« Reply #74 on: June 18, 2017, 03:28:13 PM »
@Pieter Hulshoff I have encountered some problem issues that prevent me from coding a thing.

  • When you use <onIdle> action type, it does not work when you load the menu. It is necessary to move the menu once to activate it. I would like the animations of <onIdle> to be executed when you open RetroFe, without having to move once the controller
  • When you keep left or right in the menu, RetroFE does not detect it as doing an action, so it activates the code that is in <onIdle>. This is a problem, since I do not want the <onIdle> animations to be activated as long as you move quickly through the menu.