Author Topic: Aura  (Read 25225 times)

iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Aura
« on: April 16, 2017, 08:57:27 PM »


DOWNLOAD|GITHUB|YOUTUBE

This is a layout in which I have put all my dedication for more than two years to make it a reality. Thank you all for the continued support.

This is not going to stay here, I will continue adding improvements and ideas that you are commenting on, to make this layout a reference in the world of FrontEnd emulation.

Thanks to RetroFE and very specially, thanks Pieter Hulshoff, that without his great contributions this would not have been possible.

SCREENSHOTS





HOW TO START USING IT

First download the latest version from this link. After this, you need to download emulator and get ROMs to play.

EMULATORS

For arcade games RetroArch is used with the core final burn alpha by default. You can also use MAME if you prefer.

ARCADE (Using RetroArch)
  • Download and put inside the emulators folder
  • Open RetroArch and go to: Online Updater / core updater / and select Arcade (FB Alpha) to download de core.

ARCADE (Using MAME)
  • Download and put inside the emulators folder
  • Rename emulators/mame0204b_64bit folder to mame.
  • In each game you want to use MAME you need to find settings.conf inside the game folder. In launcher section, you have to replace final burn alpha with mame same as in the code below:
  • By default
    list.path= collections/%ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME%
    list.extensions= zip
    launcher= final burn alpha
    media.system_artwork= collections/%ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME%
  • Using MAME
    list.path= collections/%ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME%
    list.extensions= zip
    launcher= mame
    media.system_artwork= collections/%ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME%

ROMs

In Aura, the games are stored in packs, this is why everything related to each game has to go inside the folder of its respective folder, including its ROM.
  • Put ddonpach.zip ROM inside dodonpachi folder.
  • Put garou.zip and neogeo.zip ROMs inside garou mark of the wolves folder.
  • Put mslug3.zip and neogeo.zip ROMs inside garou metal slug 3 folder.
  • Put pbobblen.zip and neogeo.zip ROMs inside puzzle bobble folder.
  • Put sfiii3.zip ROM inside street fighter 3 3rd strike folder.

HOW TO ADD MY OWN GAMES

  • Images
    When you add a game, you have to include six images in JPG. Why in JPG image format? Because RetroFE works more fluid using JPG compared to PNG.
    • Cover Resolution: 460 x 690 pixels.
      Game artwork with logo.
    • Fanart Resolution: 1280 x 720 pixels.
      Same Game artwork occupying the entire width.
    • Fanart blur Resolution: 1280 x 720 pixels.
      Same Fanart image with 15% Gaussian blur.
    • Screenshot 1 Resolution: ? x 220 pixels (Depends on the screen ratio).
      Title screen. The height has to be 220 pixels.
    • Screenshot 2 Resolution: ? x 220 pixels (Depends on the screen ratio).
      First gameplay screenshot. The height has to be 220 pixels.
    • Screenshot 3 Resolution: ? x 220 pixels (depends on the screen ratio).
      Second gameplay screenshot. The height has to be 220 pixels.

RELEASE NOTES

Aura v1.0-beta 2
  • Change the way to show the features of the game towards a more intuitive way in the main menu.
  • Optimization of several images of the gamepad.
  • Updated game loading system to use the default RetroFE system to load RetroArch and MAME ROMs.
  • Added new game: Street Fighter III 3rd Strike.
Aura v1.0-beta 1
  • First Release

TO DO

  • Add Arcade input version (Developing)
  • Any suggestions?
« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 04:16:42 PM by iGarikoitz »

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2017, 09:06:08 PM »
Looking impressive; you've got some things working there I didn't even know you could do with RetroFE. :) I should probably add some features to make this type of skin easier to make in the future though. Very impressive!

JonahUK

  • Guest
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2017, 10:13:56 PM »
This is hands down the best looking theme for RetroFE, Period.
I wish I was half as talented as you!

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2017, 03:27:04 AM »
The blur effect is pretty impressive, neat skin!

ryuuji

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2017, 01:11:12 PM »
Well done well done. Like the details for each game. (activates when on idle?)
Looks impressive. The downside of this would be the box frame (I know because I ve encountered it many times, hard to fit different box ratios in the frame perfectly), also the blur most likely it is done by *hand* (png batch) which, unfortunately, will make things harder to set it up because RetroFE don't feature the blur effect option.
Great work man. Keep it up. Looking forward to your release.

bundangdon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2017, 03:27:34 PM »
Very nice! Looking forward to the release of this theme :D

Mark Norville

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2017, 12:58:20 PM »
Nice looking theme, obviously based around one of Kodi skins. It would look great on a large monitor for home cinema.

The major negative though, you only have two games, I would be bored in five minutes ;)

Regards

Mark


iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2017, 05:56:46 PM »
This Layout is based on "Alaska" Kodi skin with some personal things https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-hn0ZIL-lg

New screenshot:



I have changed the information that appears under the name of the game for something more elegant and clear.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2017, 05:59:15 PM by igarikoitz »

ryuuji

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2017, 06:17:55 PM »
Looks good. How is the letter working in RetroFE?

iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2017, 06:37:36 PM »
Looks good. How is the letter working in RetroFE?

I created an image with the full alphabet. Then I have created one by one the images with the selected letter and put them in "collections \ _common \ medium_artwork \ manufacturer" with the name "a", "b", "c" etc.

Now comes the trick:

It looks like my layout has games on the main page. Really are collections with a unique game.
* When I have more developed the layout, I will explain why I have done this ...

Example:
Collection: "Garou Mark of the Wolves" and inside the game "Garou Mark of the Wolves"

In the "Garou mark of the Wolves" folder in the "info.conf" file on the "manufacturer" part I have set "g"

Now using the code <reloadableImage mode = "common" type = "manufacturer">
I say to the RetroFe that when I select the collection "Garou mark of the Wolves" I load the image corresponding to the letter G selected.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2017, 06:41:07 PM »
I figured you just created a copy with the right letter highlighted for each game. 😀

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2017, 06:48:40 PM »
I figured you just created a copy with the right letter highlighted for each game. 😀
There are 27 images of the entire alphabet, each with a selected letter.

Now I write that letter in the manufacturer section of the info.conf file for each collection and RetroFe when I choose the "Garou Mark of the Wolves" collection, load the complete image of the alphabet that has the letter "G" selected.

ryuuji

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2017, 06:49:38 PM »
Nice trick.
Now I wish they were ready those info.conf files :))

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2017, 07:06:54 PM »
Sure, but you could also have kept them all in the same collection, and create an image with the alphabet and the G highlighted called "Garou Mark of the Wolves.png".

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


iGarikoitz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: (Wip) Aurora V2, I have to think about it
« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2017, 07:10:45 PM »
Sure, but you could also have kept them all in the same collection, and create an image with the alphabet and the G highlighted called "Garou Mark of the Wolves.png".
The problem of doing that you say is that you would have to create an image for each game, so if the game library is very large it would be duplicating many times the same image. With one image per letter and using a tag in the text file, I can load the selected image for each game without having to duplicate them.