Author Topic: Menu Tiers  (Read 268 times)

LewisR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Menu Tiers
« on: March 09, 2023, 12:33:16 PM »
I have read carefully through the documentation, nowhere in the documentation does it talk about tiers design

My question is not about emulators or games ,  however the best way to categorize them.

Collection\collection name\*.items go here

also a definition for menu items,

What i need is one more tiere, after selecting ITEM, goto additional list or sub list,

Hope I explained it ok, any help would be greatly apreciated, thanks

« Last Edit: March 09, 2023, 12:34:58 PM by LewisR »

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Menu Tiers
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2023, 08:03:40 PM »
Menu tiers are automatic within RetroFE. If you have games in a list, they're directly accessible; if you put a collection in your menu.txt it automatically becomes the next tier. The only thing you do need to make sure of is that your theme actually has some entries for properly showing the next tier. Some themes do that automatically, and some were never meant for more than one or two tiers.

LewisR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Menu Tiers
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2023, 02:10:31 AM »
Ok, thank you for your responce, 2 tiere I think is what im talking about, Collection\name1\subName1,

So Theme, is where i need to look at, "Layout.xml" ?

<menu> Parameters ?

<menu>
  <itemDefaults/>
  <item/>
</menu>

This is example in your documentation,

I see within MENU and /MENU,

<menu menuIndex="1"  there is 0, so by adding a "2" allow for another tiere, hope im understanding it.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Menu Tiers
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2023, 10:45:16 PM »
That's correct. The menuIndex represents the tier, and starts counting at 0.

LewisR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Menu Tiers
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2023, 07:12:25 AM »
Thank you Perter, you have given me something to learn and explore,

I think I have also found a simple solution,

If I have Collections\Games1\Items1-2-3-4-5 and Collections\Games1b, can I make 1 item on select simply link to Games1b?
can you give me a method or example which I can accomplish it , thank you.


Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Menu Tiers
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2023, 02:25:32 PM »