Author Topic: Demul does not load games either...  (Read 336 times)

shc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Demul does not load games either...
« on: April 03, 2018, 08:59:44 PM »
Greetings, friends.
Recently I uploaded a post in which exposed the impossibility of loading games in the Model 2 emulator.
Well now I have the same problem with the Demul to load the games of Naomi and Atomiswave. When I try to load any game from the Retrofe the emulator window opens but does not load the rom.
So I have the launcher configured:

executable = C: \ RetroFE \ emulators \ Sammy Atomiswave \ demul.exe
arguments = "% ITEM_NAME%"

And in settings:

#################################################################################################### ########################
# list.path =% BASE_ITEM_PATH% \% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% \ roms
list.path = C: \ RetroFE \ emulators \ Sammy Atomiswave \ roms
list.includeMissingItems = false
list.extensions = zip
list.menuSort = yes

#################################################################################################### ########################
# If a game is specified in include.txt then it will be included in the list
# regardless of if the rom actually exists or not. Set this variable to false
#to exclude any items that can not be found.
#################################################################################################### ########################
list.includeMissingItems = true

#################################################################################################### ########################
# Extensions are comma separated without spaces
#################################################################################################### ########################
list.extensions = zip

#################################################################################################### ########################
# If a menu.xml file exists, it will display the menu alphabetically. To
#not auto-sort the menu items alphabetically, set the following to false.
# This does not apply to how your ROMs are sorted.
#################################################################################################### ########################
list.menuSort = true

#################################################################################################### ########################
# The executable to run when an item in a collection item is selected
#################################################################################################### ########################
launcher = Sammy Atomiswave

#################################################################################################### ########################
# Default media paths to scan for artwork. Uncomment and edit to override
# the default values.
#
# media.screenshot =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / screenshot
# media.screentitle =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / screentitle
# media.artwork_back =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / artwork_back
# media.artwork_front =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / artwork_front
# media.logo =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / logo
# media.medium_back =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / medium_back
# media.medium_front =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / medium_front
# media.screenshot =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / screenshot
# media.screentitle =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / screentitle
# media.video =% BASE_MEDIA_PATH% /% ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME% / medium_artwork / video
#################################################################################################### ########################

I do not know how to make these emulators work anymore. And I would like to solve it a lot because Retrofe is the frontend that I like and prefer.
Do you know where the error may be?

                                                              Thank you very much.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1015
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Demul does not load games either...
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2018, 09:29:05 PM »
You're in luck; this is one of the few Windows only emulators I actually use. :)
Here's my launcher:
executable = emulators\DEmul\demul.exe
arguments = -run=awave -rom=%ITEM_NAME%

johnm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Demul does not load games either...
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2018, 09:16:12 PM »


Thanks for all this Pieter, after trying to get my head around launching naomi games with demul i seen this post. I take it the -run= argument is pointing to the bios to load and as such you could have the choice of one emu folder and multiple launchers for each bios like dreamcast, naomi, hikaru, atomiswave or a separate demul in each system folder and relevant bios in the rom folder.
Never tried emulating anything past 16 bit before on the PC so a total noob at it
I noticed the menu bar is visible, is there any way to hide that?

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1015
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Demul does not load games either...
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2018, 09:40:26 PM »
I believe I hid that within the emulator itself. It's not so much a command line option as a configuration option.

shc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Demul does not load games either...
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2018, 01:15:29 PM »
Greetings. A few months ago I started this post before the impossibility of launching the emulator Demul in the RetroFe. To this day I still can not make it work and my question is: What version of Demul you use to launch it in the frontend?
Can you upload your configuration here for launchers, etc?
The truth is that I do not know how to solve this problem. Thank you.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1015
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Demul does not load games either...
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2018, 08:46:50 PM »
I'm using 0.7 alpha, like most people I think.
I'm including my Sammy Atomiswave and Sega Naomi launchers; I haven't used it for DreamCast emulation yet.
Make sure the games actually launch from the emulator itself before you try to run them from RetroFE. If they don't run from the emulator, they certainly won't run from RetroFE.

shc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Demul does not load games either...
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2018, 12:14:24 PM »
Thanks a lot Pieter ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)