Author Topic: RetroFE development  (Read 123493 times)

bodbod

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Don't be a sheep, Do It Yourself !
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #150 on: April 01, 2017, 02:04:37 PM »
Hey Pieter,

Could you create a new thread for the next release (7.21) and the different functionalities which are currently developped.
Just to keep track and better visibility.

Thanks !

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #151 on: April 01, 2017, 02:07:37 PM »
Could you create a new thread for the next release (7.21) and the different functionalities which are currently developped.
Just to keep track and better visibility.

I'm working on 0.8.0 at the moment; I'm going back to full releases at 0.x, and use 0.x.y as updates. I'll open up new threads as soon as I'm ready with 0.8.0 - RC1.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #152 on: May 24, 2017, 07:44:06 PM »
I've created a new (closed) thread for new versions; that way people can easily find the latest executable.
Just up: 0.8.6: http://retrofe.nl/SMF/index.php?topic=177.msg1781#msg1781

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #153 on: May 28, 2017, 08:12:24 AM »
I've replaced the first post with a link to the RetroFE bitbucket issue list. You can find all the feature requests there from now on. Let me know if there's something missing, and I'll add it. That way we can keep track of what needs to be done still.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #154 on: July 08, 2017, 04:37:37 PM »
Feature proposal:
- Add a parameter to the generic settings.conf to turn on the following feature:
- RetroFE will determine the screen ratio: 4:3, 5:4, 16:9, 16:10, 3:4, 4:5, 9:16, 10:16, and load a layout <ratio>.xml accordingly if available. If none is found, layout.xml is loaded in stead.
This will allow RetroFE to automatically select a ratio based layout (if so provided), and will allow a setup to be shared between different monitors. This can be especially helpful when setting it up on the RetroPi so users don't have to manually change that.

Any thoughts?

dougan78

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #155 on: July 09, 2017, 02:18:38 AM »
Interesting idea.  How would one setup a layout for all those ratios?  Would be separate artwork per ratio?

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #156 on: July 09, 2017, 06:39:24 AM »
It would be a different layout per ratio, similar to how Aeon Nox is doing it currently. The artwork could be the same; Aeon Nox uses the same artwork for 4x3 and 16x9, but 4x3 displays fewer menu elements, and has a bit more space for others.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #157 on: February 10, 2018, 05:08:49 PM »
I've managed to get a working stand-alone control configuration tool on Linux. I plan to add this code into RetroFE, so it will ask the user for input in case no controls.conf file is available. This should go a long way in helping people configure their keys, because frankly: it currently is trial-and-error for many controllers. :)

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #158 on: February 11, 2018, 03:42:14 PM »
Ok, here's a 0.8.15b1 executable for you to play with. Please consider that this is partly untested code, so make a backup of your current executable before trying this one. You'll need to put both the retrofe.exe as well as the OpenSans.ttf file in your core directory for this to work properly.

New features:
- RetroFE will look for a layout xml file based on your window's aspect ratio before loading loading.xml. This will allow you to create a single setup where e.g. layout 4x3.xml or layout 16x9.xml will be loaded depending on your connected monitor setup. Currently only Aeon Nox offers these files, but I think it would be a nice addition for future purposes.
- RetroFE will ask for user input if no controls.conf file is found. This will allow you to configure the RetroFE controls on start-up so you don't have to go through trial and error to figure out how certain controller buttons map to RetroFE codes.

I'd love for people to run some tests, and provide me with some feedback. The control configuration's certainly not a graphical marvel, but in my tests so far it gets the job done.

goldorakiller

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #159 on: February 16, 2018, 10:48:50 AM »
Hello,
I've just made some test.
I remove control.conf and test.

There are too much screen and key to enter. It seems to have duplicate things.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #160 on: February 16, 2018, 05:38:20 PM »
Hello,
I've just made some test.
I remove control.conf and test.

There are too much screen and key to enter. It seems to have duplicate things.

There are two control options:

A control is mandatory, like Menu Up:
1. It asks you for a key; enter a key.
2. It asks you for another key; enter another key, and go to 2 or wait 10 seconds to go to 1 for the next control.

A control is optional, like random game selection:
1. It asks you for a key; enter a key or wait 10 seconds to go to 1 for the next control.
2. It asks you for another key; enter another key, and go to 2 or wait 10 seconds to go to 1 for the next control.

In 2, in stead of waiting 10 seconds, you can also press the same key you pressed before to go to the next control.

Just read carefully what it says on the screen.

KMetalMind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #161 on: February 17, 2018, 10:14:48 AM »
Hi Pieter!

On Windows, without controls.conf, it doesn't open for me:
Code: [Select]
[2018-02-17 11:06:33] [INFO] [Configuration] Importing "Z:\Super DreamStation Plus\RetroFE 0.6.169\controls.conf"
[2018-02-17 11:06:33] [ERROR] [Configuration] Could not open Z:\Super DreamStation Plus\RetroFE 0.6.169\controls.conf"
[2018-02-17 11:06:33] [ERROR] [RetroFE] Could not import "Z:\Super DreamStation Plus\RetroFE 0.6.169\controls.conf"

I haven't find any regressions on anything I use on my build, which is awesome, as I still used v0.7.21b1  :D

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #162 on: February 17, 2018, 05:07:10 PM »
Hi Pieter!

On Windows, without controls.conf, it doesn't open for me:
Code: [Select]
[2018-02-17 11:06:33] [INFO] [Configuration] Importing "Z:\Super DreamStation Plus\RetroFE 0.6.169\controls.conf"
[2018-02-17 11:06:33] [ERROR] [Configuration] Could not open Z:\Super DreamStation Plus\RetroFE 0.6.169\controls.conf"
[2018-02-17 11:06:33] [ERROR] [RetroFE] Could not import "Z:\Super DreamStation Plus\RetroFE 0.6.169\controls.conf"

I haven't find any regressions on anything I use on my build, which is awesome, as I still used v0.7.21b1  :D

Which version exe and full version did you test this with? Can you post your full log.txt?

KMetalMind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #163 on: February 17, 2018, 08:47:07 PM »
Of course, here it is  ;) log_ok.txt is a working log and log.txt is after deleting controls.conf.

The exe is the one you last posted. Some other files may be outdated. Should I update them? Everything works perfectly unless I delete controls.conf.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE development
« Reply #164 on: February 17, 2018, 10:36:42 PM »
Of course, here it is  ;) log_ok.txt is a working log and log.txt is after deleting controls.conf.

The exe is the one you last posted. Some other files may be outdated. Should I update them? Everything works perfectly unless I delete controls.conf.

You forgot to add the font your core directory...