Author Topic: Control.conf per layout.xml  (Read 247 times)

iGarikoitz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +8/-5
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Control.conf per layout.xml
« on: February 27, 2021, 03:56:58 PM »
Can you program to use a controls.conf per layout to include a diferent control configuration when loading a inside layout.xml?

Creating a control.conf file next to its corresponding layout.xml they would be loaded together and would overwrite the previous control.conf file, in this way we could have a more precise control of the keys in all the frontend.

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Control.conf per layout.xml
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2021, 10:32:23 PM »
I'd like this too.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1337
  • Karma: +34/-5
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Control.conf per layout.xml
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2021, 09:44:22 PM »
I'll give it some consideration.

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Control.conf per layout.xml
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2021, 06:05:53 PM »
Thanks. I just wanted to add that I'd like to map the scrolling of the mouse's wheel up and down.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1337
  • Karma: +34/-5
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Control.conf per layout.xml
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2021, 07:37:51 PM »
The issue with that idea is that you would probably also like to use the speed of scrolling for the speed of the menu, which will be a lot harder to add to the current code base. I think SDL has mouse support, so base support might be possible; I'll have to see what codes SDL gives for the mouse exactly.

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Control.conf per layout.xml
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2021, 03:55:30 AM »
Aaah, gotcha. I guess if you can just throw in the keycode barebones, that may be enough. I think I can change the sensitivity of the scroll on the mouse I use with a program so I could take it from there in case of.