Author Topic: Roms not being scanned on 1 menu  (Read 154 times)

The SPY

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Roms not being scanned on 1 menu
« on: May 22, 2020, 11:33:41 PM »
Hi All, I have been working away setting  up  RetroFE on Ubuntu. As I thought this might be a good option for the cabinet i was creating. But I'm having so many issues with MAME resetting my joysticks settings back to default, I've decided to give up and go back to using Windows.

So I installed RetroFE on windows and copied over my collections and layouts from my setup in Ubuntu, and edited the various settings files for the different change in paths etc everything is working as except for 1 menu. For some reason my "All Arcade" wont display any Roms even tho I have the correct path in the settings file, all my other menus for my console roms work fine. And the weird thing is that the all the Arcade "sub menus" menus I have created work as expected to.

So from my log file I can see it scans my MAME roms folder

[2020-05-23 10:23:14] [INFO] [CollectionInfoBuilder] Checking for "Z:\RetroFE_Data\collections\1 All Arcade\include.txt"
[2020-05-23 10:23:14] [INFO] [CollectionInfoBuilder] Scanning directory "Z:/Common/Roms/mame219"

And doesn't so an error or anything, but displays nothing in the menu.
Then I open a sub folder and you can see from my log file that it scan based on the ".sub" file

[2020-05-23 10:23:30] [INFO] [CollectionInfoBuilder] Checking for "Z:\RetroFE_Data\collections\1.2 Ball & Paddle Games\include.txt"
[2020-05-23 10:23:30] [INFO] [CollectionInfoBuilder] Scanning directory "Z:\RetroFE_Data\collections\1.2 Ball & Paddle Games\roms"
[2020-05-23 10:23:30] [INFO] [CollectionInfoBuilder] Could not read directory "Z:\RetroFE_Data\collections\1.2 Ball & Paddle Games\roms". Ignore if this is a menu.
[2020-05-23 10:23:30] [INFO] [RetroFE] Loading subcollection into menu: 1 All Arcade
[2020-05-23 10:23:30] [INFO] [CollectionInfoBuilder] Checking for "Z:\RetroFE_Data\collections\1.2 Ball & Paddle Games\1 All Arcade.sub"
[2020-05-23 10:23:30] [INFO] [CollectionInfoBuilder] Scanning directory "Z:/Common/Roms/mame219"

My roms are displayed as expected in the menu and when I select one it launches correctly

[2020-05-23 10:23:30] [INFO] [RetroFE] Loading playlist: lastplayed
[2020-05-23 10:23:33] [INFO] [SDL] DeInitializing
[2020-05-23 10:23:34] [INFO] [RetroFE] Updating lastplayed playlist
[2020-05-23 10:23:34] [INFO] [Collection] Saving Z:\RetroFE_Data\collections\1.2 Ball & Paddle Games\playlists/lastplayed.txt
[2020-05-23 10:23:34] [INFO] [Launcher] Checking to see if "Z:/Common/Roms/mame219\arkanoid.zip" exists  [Yes]
[2020-05-23 10:23:34] [INFO] [Launcher] Attempting to launch: "C:\Users\spyph\Mame0219\mame64.exe" "arkanoid"
[2020-05-23 10:23:34] [INFO] [Launcher]      from within folder: C:\Users\spyph\Mame0219
[2020-05-23 10:23:42] [INFO] [Launcher] Completed

So I'm very confused as to why the "all" menu doesn't work ? I have tried swapping around the / to \ etc and it didn't make any difference. Can anyone please help ?

hiorik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Roms not being scanned on 1 menu
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2020, 12:18:52 AM »
Can you upload your settings.conf file?

The SPY

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Roms not being scanned on 1 menu
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2020, 05:37:33 AM »
I have attached my Setting file, for that menu

walknight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Roms not being scanned on 1 menu
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2020, 05:45:48 AM »
This may be off topic, but regarding "having so many issues with MAME resetting my joysticks settings back to default", I think the recommended way is to not rely on cfg/default.cfg, instead put those settings into a file under the "ctrlr" folder, e.g. ctrlr/mycab.cfg, then in mame.ini set it to use that controller config:
Code: [Select]
ctrlr  mycab
You can also have different controller settings in different ini files.
This talks about the order of ini loading:
https://docs.mamedev.org/advanced/multiconfig.html

Using the ctrlr approach also solves the issue that the USB Joypad ID sometimes switches:
https://docs.mamedev.org/advanced/devicemap.html

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1257
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Roms not being scanned on 1 menu
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2020, 07:25:39 AM »
I have attached my Setting file, for that menu

Are you sure?
list.path = /home/retro/Emulation/Common/Roms/mame219

The SPY

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Roms not being scanned on 1 menu
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2020, 10:19:43 PM »
Sorry attach my Ubuntu setting file not my windows one, try that again, This is the setting file from my windows setup


The SPY

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Roms not being scanned on 1 menu
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2020, 10:22:47 PM »
Thanks, walknight I'll give that a try. But I did have other issues that were annoying me in Ubuntu, the controller was like the last straw... but I do like the idea of having a separate control ini file for the controls

The SPY

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Roms not being scanned on 1 menu
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2020, 09:30:23 AM »
ok, problem solved, I deleted the Playlist folder, so It would auto recreate it, and it now shows all my roms as expected.  :)

hiorik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Roms not being scanned on 1 menu
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2020, 09:06:43 PM »
Excellent  ;D.