Author Topic: No Roms load inside a collection.  (Read 9239 times)

Narcona23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
No Roms load inside a collection.
« on: November 25, 2019, 08:59:29 PM »
Several Systems are not loading anything but some are loading everything properly.
I have checked the settings, the launcher,config file,info file,and even changed all the artwork.
I can't figure it out. I've added and removed the extensions and done just about everything.
I need help!!!!
I also need help configuring a Ps4 controller too.
Controller Settings https://docs.google.com/document/d/1NDakf_O01_KOiGzTpswKyR3pqpoPnTVntjUr1VdT3f4/edit
ColecoVision Settings https://docs.google.com/document/d/1RqZhf5w-dxsAt9n8MX7SdFrtFAwBt-evqHFxmbwSEOE/edit
ColecoVision Launcher https://docs.google.com/document/d/1-ysRM5LA9YcHsCdwG_Y2hb5lK61_8V2mAbGX8OJF3H0/edit
Log https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ihlhaAbHT5-9_h6wLQkREt9mc0AHJgXM7QZScqnqE6E/edit
« Last Edit: November 25, 2019, 09:07:58 PM by Narcona23 »

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2019, 03:17:33 PM »
Can you upload the files here in stead? I'm getting an error message when I try to open the Google documents pages.

Narcona23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2019, 12:08:15 AM »
Sure!

Narcona23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2019, 12:12:54 AM »
Log

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2019, 08:04:34 PM »
Where are your Coleco roms, and what extensions do they have?

Narcona23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2019, 12:08:10 AM »
C:\RetroFE\Roms\ColecoVision\roms
Extension .7z

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2019, 12:06:25 PM »
C:\RetroFE\Roms\ColecoVision\roms
Extension .7z

Your log file doesn't show you entering the Coleco collection, so I cannot check what actually happens there, but according to the following line in log.txt
[2019-11-25 18:41:44] [INFO] [Configuration] Dump: "collections.ColecoVision.list.extensions" = "7z,col"
RetroFE should look for .7z and .col files, so that part is fine.

I do notice the following line in your log.txt file though:
[2019-11-25 18:41:44] [INFO] [Configuration] Dump: "baseItemPath" = "z:\retrofe\Roms\"

For SNES, you override that path in your settings.conf:
[2019-11-25 18:41:44] [INFO] [Configuration] Dump: "collections.Super Nintendo Entertainment System.list.path" = "ROMs\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\roms\"

You don't do that for the other collections. Might it be that based on the current settings it's looking for roms on your Z drive?

Narcona23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2019, 12:09:23 PM »
Sorry don't know what a Z Drive is but how do i change a list path for the roms?

Narcona23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2019, 12:12:14 PM »
Or where should I put my roms folder?

Narcona23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2019, 12:16:17 PM »
New log with me entering colecovision.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2019, 12:39:48 PM »
New log with me entering colecovision.

Looks like I was right:
[2019-11-29 07:14:07] [INFO] [CollectionInfoBuilder] Scanning directory "z:\retrofe\Roms\\ColecoVision"

Your problem is in your global settings.conf file. Just delete or comment out the following line:
baseItemPath" = "z:\retrofe\Roms\"
I'm not sure how that got in there; it's not in the official release.

Narcona23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2019, 01:58:53 AM »
like this? Because it still doesn't work.

Narcona23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2019, 02:00:30 AM »
But like I said some collections are loading properly others are not.
also it's not an official release I downloaded one with all the artwork and collections pre setup.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2019, 07:38:09 AM »
like this? Because it still doesn't work.

No, you altered the line in stead of commenting it out like I asked you to. Just put a # in front of it.

dougan78

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Roms load inside a collection.
« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2019, 12:01:13 PM »
This may be a dumb question.  Did you test unzipping the games instead of leaving them .7z?  Maybe it does like 7z.  Just an idea.  Good luck.