Author Topic: Linux set up  (Read 990 times)

bodbod

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Don't be a sheep, Do It Yourself !
Linux set up
« on: November 04, 2017, 08:21:05 PM »
Hi,

Which linux distro would you guys recommend to make an arcade machine working ?
Is there any specification we should know before going that path ?
shall we have a tutorial int he relevant section for this (step by step)?

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Linux set up
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2017, 08:54:36 PM »
I'm using Kubuntu 17.10 atm, but I've used different distros in the past. If you can set up Linux, then setting up RetroFE is easy: just follow the instruction steps on bitbucket or grab the latest release from the site (includes a compiled Linux executable), and install a few libraries. It's all in the wiki documentation on this site as well.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


Thunderman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Linux set up
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2017, 02:54:20 PM »
ideally you would want the core or headless version of the OS command prompt no desktop/gui and only install Xorg then just have retrofe on autostart thats how im going to do it after my testing and setup my cabinet. :D  i would suggest either ubuntu server or debian server and then just run a apt-get install xorg, openssh-server and Samba for sharing roms folders. (Very similar to the retropi)

bodbod

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Don't be a sheep, Do It Yourself !
Re: Linux set up
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2017, 11:38:55 AM »
I am not a heavy user of Linux but my plan was to install Lubuntu and disable the Gui once the config is fully running.
it's running fine so far under windows 7 but still, i got few windows crashes and i believe Linux core is more stable.
I would like also to image the config so that i can reload in a snap the core if corrupted.
I need to spend some time on checking the drivers'compatibility as well before going to far.

dougan78

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Linux set up
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2017, 06:27:46 PM »
This thread has a nice script for retrpi to add retrofe and it will use all the retrpi launchers and rom folders etc. Makes  Linux setup or pi setup a snap, worth checking out imho

http://www.retrofe.nl/SMF/index.php?topic=183.0