Author Topic: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe  (Read 2205 times)

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« on: August 09, 2017, 01:18:04 AM »
No sound after selecting. Same configuration works on 0.80.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1215
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2017, 10:23:50 AM »
Seems like RetroFE didn't wait for the sound to finish before starting the emulator. Since the order of execution was changed a little when I added the onGameEnter/Exit animations, the sound was hardly audible at all. I've moved the playing to the start of the animation, and added a check to see if the sound has completed playing. The fix should be available in the next version (or you can compile it from bit bucket if you need it sooner :) ).

NeoID

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2017, 01:37:44 PM »
Awesome, I was about to make a post on this before I got the email from bitbucket.
I've been working hard on my RetroFE instance and thought I messed up something in my theme. :P

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2017, 07:31:08 AM »
Thanks for the quick fix!!

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2017, 12:53:36 AM »
I believe I'm experiencing this again. I may not have noticed when it stopped working. Does select.wave run for you guys on 0.8.13?

dougan78

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2017, 01:02:29 AM »
I believe I'm experiencing this again. I may not have noticed when it stopped working. Does select.wave run for you guys on 0.8.13?
If that is the clicking when navigating menus, then yes. 

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2017, 01:26:29 AM »
That one works for me too. The one I'm talking about is when you select a game.

dougan78

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2017, 01:45:45 AM »
It works on mine. When I go into a menu it makes the swooshing sound and back out of a menu it makes the beep.  So seems fine here with the latest exe.

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2017, 09:01:25 PM »
Yeah, you're right. I downloaded the latest full one and it works there. Then I replaced some files with the ones in my install and it's back to no sound. So it's something on my setup, I'll go one by one and see what's up. Thanks!

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2017, 10:00:39 PM »
Actually, I don't think it works on the latest .exe at all lol. I got it confused because the sound of the default video (Zero Tolerance) made me think it had the sound, but after removing it, you can hear clearly nothing playing upon trying to enter a game. You can try replacing select.wav with a louder sound (like renaming load.wav to select.wav) to notice it clearly.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1215
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2017, 01:03:29 PM »
Actually, I don't think it works on the latest .exe at all lol. I got it confused because the sound of the default video (Zero Tolerance) made me think it had the sound, but after removing it, you can hear clearly nothing playing upon trying to enter a game. You can try replacing select.wav with a louder sound (like renaming load.wav to select.wav) to notice it clearly.
Did you have a look at the beta I posted a while ago in the theme section (0.8.14b1 or so)? I know I fixed this issue after 0.8.13 came out.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1215
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2017, 01:08:30 PM »
I think this was it, but I'm not 100% sure, so keep the current exe as well: http://retrofe.nl/SMF/index.php?topic=144.msg2413#msg2413

firewater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: select.wav doesn't work with latest .exe
« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2017, 09:27:34 PM »
Absolutely 100% working with 0.8.14. Thanks!