Author Topic: Problem to start the games  (Read 9266 times)

Pepeporras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Problem to start the games
« on: June 15, 2017, 09:57:46 AM »
Hello, good morning, I downloaded a few days ago RetroFe, it's a wonderful front end but I have a big problem, when I start some game on my list, the emulator opens but it does not start the game, it happens in all emulators except in Mame .

 I need help please :(

cassette

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2017, 10:22:32 AM »
What do you have on the launcher for the emulators? If, for example, you're using RetroArch for NES with Nestopia, it should look something like:

Code: [Select]
executable = C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
arguments = "%ITEM_FILEPATH%" -L "cores\nestopia_libretro.dll"
« Last Edit: June 15, 2017, 11:51:59 AM by Pieter Hulshoff »

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2017, 11:53:44 AM »
I moved the topic to the general help section. Thanks for the heads-up, firewater

With regards to your question: Please upload your log.txt so we can have a look, and help you solve the problem. :)

Pepeporras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2017, 01:39:43 PM »
What do you have on the launcher for the emulators? If, for example, you're using RetroArch for NES with Nestopia, it should look something like:

Code: [Select]
executable = C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
arguments = "%ITEM_FILEPATH%" -L "cores\nestopia_libretro.dll"

I do not use any launcher, I have the emulators each in their folder and I order the launcher to run the emulator when I select a game. I need a program like retroarch? I can not throw directly giving the order?

executable = C:\Program Files\Emulators\Nes\Nestopia.exe
arguments = "%ITEM_FILEPATH%"


Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2017, 02:13:42 PM »
You can use any emulator you like.

RetroFE works with a two step approach:
1. In the settings.conf of each collection, you can define the launcher used by the items in that collection.
2. In the launchers/<launcher name>.conf file you define the command (executable) and arguments that need to be used to launch the game.

As said: please upload your log.txt (created after you unsuccessfully try to launch the game), and I will have a look to see if I can figure out what the problem is.

Pepeporras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2017, 02:47:10 PM »
You can use any emulator you like.

RetroFE works with a two step approach:
1. In the settings.conf of each collection, you can define the launcher used by the items in that collection.
2. In the launchers/<launcher name>.conf file you define the command (executable) and arguments that need to be used to launch the game.

As said: please upload your log.txt (created after you unsuccessfully try to launch the game), and I will have a look to see if I can figure out what the problem is.


Thanks, later upload  log.txt

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2017, 02:20:46 PM »
this is my log, i start game but open also emulator,the game not started  :(

I don't see any log; could you attach it to your post, please?

Pepeporras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2017, 02:25:04 PM »
this is my log, i start game but open also emulator,the game not started  :(

I don't see any log; could you attach it to your post, please?
« Last Edit: June 16, 2017, 02:41:53 PM by Pepeporras »

Agent47

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +7/-41
    • View Profile
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2017, 03:19:36 PM »
The problem is you're using the %ITEM_NAME% as the argument in your jnes launcher so it's sending the file name without the extension. You should use "%ITEM_FILEPATH%" as your argument instead.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2017, 03:21:53 PM »
The problem is you're using the %ITEM_NAME% as the argument in your jnes launcher so it's sending the file name without the extension. You should use "%ITEM_FILEPATH%" as your argument instead.

You just beat me to it. :) %ITEM_NAME% is generally only used by MAME when launching arcade games or games from the software list. Practically every other emulator needs the full path to the ROM.

Pepeporras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2017, 04:45:17 PM »
The problem is you're using the %ITEM_NAME% as the argument in your jnes launcher so it's sending the file name without the extension. You should use "%ITEM_FILEPATH%" as your argument instead.

You just beat me to it. :) %ITEM_NAME% is generally only used by MAME when launching arcade games or games from the software list. Practically every other emulator needs the full path to the ROM.

More thanks Agent and Pieter  ;)

Pepeporras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2017, 07:36:36 PM »
OMG  :(

now start game but when press esc, not exit, also minimize the emulator :(

Pufffff...

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Karma: +46/-14
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2017, 08:30:36 PM »
That sounds like an emulator configuration issue. While the emulator is running, RetroFE has no control over it.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


Pepeporras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem to start the games
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2017, 09:04:01 PM »
That sounds like an emulator configuration issue. While the emulator is running, RetroFE has no control over it.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

ok, i change the emulator, now edit in emulator key esc for exit, and emulator stop  ;)