Author Topic: Tutorial section  (Read 28701 times)

bodbod

• View Profile
    • Don't be a sheep, Do It Yourself !
Tutorial section
« on: May 17, 2017, 12:49:24 PM »
Hi,

Maybe a Tutorials section approved by the admin would be a good solution to skim the numerous information in the general/help section.
Once you believe the tutorial is accurate and relevant, you guys move it to the Tutorials section.
I believe, this would increase the value of the forum and the number of contributors on top of the wiki documentation.

cheers

Pieter Hulshoff

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: Tutorial section
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2017, 12:50:42 PM »
Sure, I can set up a section for that. :)

RetroPrime

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2017, 04:16:05 PM »
Hi Pieter,
I'm quite new to RetroFe, but am absolutely struggling at setting up MAME/Fusion or just about any emulator to run.
I don't find the online guide particularly useful. What I'm after is almost an Idiot's guide to RetroFe.
While I'm here, does retroFe work with versions of MAME that are pre-0185?

Agent47

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2017, 04:47:49 PM »
What are you having trouble with specifically? Are you having trouble with setting up a collection in RetroFE or are you just having issues actually running games from the frontend? If it's the latter the first step should be to ensure you're able to run games through the emulator directly outside of the frontend. Once you can do that it's just a matter of creating a launcher.conf for that emulator containing the proper exe location and command line args and setting the collection to use that emulator in its settings.conf and setting your rom path if you're not using the default location.

IIRC the MAME and Fusion launchers are included in the base RFE download so it shouldn't be an issue with the launchers assuming you set the path to the executables. Feel free to upload your log.txt also.