Author Topic: RetroFE 0.8.0  (Read 13229 times)

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
RetroFE 0.8.0
« on: April 19, 2017, 04:32:47 PM »
I have released 0.8.0 via the download section.
Here is a list of all the changes.

Next steps will be to update the documentation, create issues in bit bucket for all the change requests, fix any bugs that pop up, and start working on new features from there. :) Let me know if you encounter any issues.

dustind900

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2017, 05:19:50 PM »
I'm having problems using period and comma as inputs. Other than that everything is fine.

Sent from my LG-H950 using Tapatalk

Agent47

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2017, 06:05:49 PM »
Comma is used as the delimiter for parsing the keys so that's likely the issue there.

dustind900

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2017, 08:20:42 PM »
Is this fixable or should I do some rewiring? Can we use ascii keycodes?

Also when I enter my mame collection the all games list is displayed, but the image for my first playlist shows up on top.

Sent from my LG-H950 using Tapatalk

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2017, 10:44:54 PM »
It's probably fixable; I'll have a closer look. Send me your controls.conf file to play around with?

I'm not sure why your playlist would be misbehaving; by default you should enter the all games playlist unless your auto-favorites is on, and you have a favorites playlist. Did you check the common logos to make sure your all games playlist is still what it should be, and wasn't overwritten with the fighter logo?

dustind900

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2017, 11:35:16 PM »
my all games logo is fine. If i cycle through my playlists back to all games the logo displays correctly.


Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2017, 07:28:53 AM »
my all games logo is fine. If i cycle through my playlists back to all games the logo displays correctly.

Ok, and this happens right after you start up RetroFE? Please upload a zip with your playlists and your global settings,conf, and I'll see if I can figure this one out. :)

dustind900

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2017, 07:36:24 AM »
Quote from: Pieter Hulshoff
Ok, and this happens right after you start up RetroFE? Please upload a zip with your playlists and your global settings,conf, and I'll see if I can figure this one out. :)

It happens anytime I enter MAME from the main menu.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2017, 07:57:44 AM »
I'm having problems using period and comma as inputs. Other than that everything is fine.

Here's 0.8.1; let me know if that solves your input issues. Changes:
- Fixed incorrect art loading when pressing next/previous letter during highlight animation.
- Added support for , and . as input keys.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2017, 08:00:22 AM »
It happens anytime I enter MAME from the main menu.

It's a bug, and occurs if you have playlists while autoFavorites is false. I'll see if I can fix this.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2017, 08:18:51 AM »
It happens anytime I enter MAME from the main menu.

Here's 0.8.2. Let me know if that fixes your playlist issue. :)

dustind900

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2017, 08:25:27 AM »
Nicely done. Playlist issue fixed and input issue seems to be fixed as well. Thank you

Sent from my LG-H950 using Tapatalk


dustind900

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2017, 08:42:11 PM »
Is it possible to display system artwork and info.conf for items that launch directly from the main menu? I have all the other media working (logo, fanart, story).

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2017, 09:37:02 PM »
Release 0.8.3 available:
- Added reloadableMedia and reloadableText type firstLetter to allow images/text displayed based on the first letter of a selected item.
- Fixed bug where <video> continued playing upon launch. Video needs to be turned off when a game is launched, and restarted when the game is complete.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: RetroFE 0.8.0
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2017, 09:38:42 PM »
Is it possible to display system artwork and info.conf for items that launch directly from the main menu? I have all the other media working (logo, fanart, story).

It probably is, but can you give me an example of what you're looking for?