Author Topic: collection layout woes.  (Read 4357 times)

balric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
collection layout woes.
« on: March 22, 2017, 04:38:02 PM »
I am trying to create a new look on game room skin when arcade is selected. I want a modified background and a cabinet instead of a tv displaying the games. The problem I have is changes to the layout.xml in layouts/game room/collections/arcade/layout/ aren't being shown in retrofe. any ideas ?

so from attachment untitled2 to untitled.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 05:24:20 PM by balric »

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1287
  • Karma: +30/-3
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2017, 06:47:16 PM »
You're only changing the Arcade collection layout? What version of RetroFE are you running?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


balric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2017, 07:18:28 PM »
Thank you for replying. The version is 0.7.20
and cabinet for arcade, was also thinking I might change tv set to ones fitting the age of collection machine. But hopefully that will be easier just scale tv to size of main.

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1287
  • Karma: +30/-3
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2017, 07:41:46 PM »
Ok, what exactly doesn't work, and can you share the updated xml code?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


balric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2017, 11:11:00 PM »
Got the background to show up, but can see old background also big delay switching. any way to flush the other assets ? cant remove tv either or display video lol.

I'm sure the layout has tons of lines that aren't needed.

ryuuji

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2017, 10:11:26 AM »
that is from other layout not game room :P

balric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2017, 11:10:44 AM »
I tried with yours and old school game room to make sure problems were not isolated to either skin. ;)

ryuuji

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2017, 11:12:44 AM »
well to remove a image from the layout you have to remove the entry in the layout xml which is for that image :)


balric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2017, 11:18:11 AM »
The problem I seem to have is the main layout.xml takes preference over the collection layout.xml. All assets still reside no matter what. As there is.t a flush command

ryuuji

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2017, 11:41:42 AM »
you have to hide it when entering menuindex 1 I guess ...

Code: [Select]
  <image src="images/image.png" alpha="1" x="center" xOrigin="center" y="0" layer="13">
  <onMenuExit menuIndex="0">
    <set duration=".01">
  <animate type="alpha" to="0" algorithm="easeinquadratic"/>
</set>
  </onMenuExit>
  <onMenuEnter menuIndex="0">
    <set duration=".01">
  <animate type="alpha" to="1" algorithm="easeinquadratic"/>
</set>
  </onMenuEnter>
</image>
« Last Edit: March 23, 2017, 11:43:19 AM by ryuuji »

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1287
  • Karma: +30/-3
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2017, 01:24:06 PM »
Feel free to zip up the theme, and I'll have a look at it to see where things need changing. I can't imagine it being too hard. :) Worst case I'll discover a bug in RetroFE, but I think it's just an XML issue.

balric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2017, 04:30:10 PM »
I have tried zipping theme and adding as an attachment but not creating the post :(

Is there a limit to the size of an attachment ?

http://www.mediafire.com/file/ewpvee2m6wykvfp/Old_School_Game_Room.rar
« Last Edit: March 23, 2017, 04:46:06 PM by balric »

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1287
  • Karma: +30/-3
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2017, 05:19:51 PM »
Yes, there's a 4 MB limit I believe. Worst case you can email it to me.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk


balric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2017, 05:50:30 PM »
I have a link to it on my previous post, thanks

Pieter Hulshoff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1287
  • Karma: +30/-3
    • View Profile
    • Towel 42
Re: collection layout woes.
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2017, 02:11:35 PM »
I had a quick look; you really should consider reading the manual some time. :) It should provide you with an answer to a lot of the issues you're looking at here.

Most importantly: when you enter a new layout, you're not entering a menu, and the menuIndex is reset to 0. When you exit a layout, you're not exiting a menu, and the previous menuIndex is restored.
Consequences: replace your onMenuEnter animations with onEnter animations, and onMenuExit animations with onExit animations. In addition, since I don't think you'll define more menu layers below this one, you can remove all menuIndex attributes.

Another point: when you use an image with src="images/selector.png", RetroFE will (in this case), first look for layouts/Old School Game Room/collections/Arcade/layout/images/selector.png, and if it cannot find it there it will look for layouts/Old School Game Room/images/selector.png. It will certainly not look in layouts/Old School Game Room/collections/Arcade/system_artwork/.

One last pointer: if you want Linux users to be able to use this layout as well, please remember that in Linux all file names and directory names are case sensitive.