RetroFE forums

General Category => General Discussion & Help => Topic started by: Tomkun on November 21, 2017, 09:30:48 AM

Title: Can't get custom launcher to work
Post by: Tomkun on November 21, 2017, 09:30:48 AM
I've created a custom launcher for RocketLauncher thus:

Code: [Select]
executable = F:/RocketLauncher/RocketLauncher.exe
arguments = "%ITEM_COLLECTION_NAME%" "%ITEM_NAME%"

However, when I try to launch it nothing happens. A look at the log suggests that the variables are working correctly and indeed the same command works fine from the command line, just not from RetroFE.

Code: [Select]
[2017-11-21 18:24:42] [INFO] [Launcher] Checking to see if "f:/Media\Sega Genesis\Games\3 Ninjas Kick Back (USA).zip" exists  [Yes]
[2017-11-21 18:24:42] [INFO] [Launcher] Attempting to launch: "F:/RocketLauncher/RocketLauncher.exe" "Sega Genesis" "3 Ninjas Kick Back (USA)"
[2017-11-21 18:24:42] [INFO] [Launcher]      from within folder: F:/RocketLauncher/RocketLauncher.exe
[2017-11-21 18:24:42] [ERROR] [Launcher] Failed to run: F:/RocketLauncher/RocketLauncher.exe
[2017-11-21 18:24:42] [INFO] [Launcher] Completed
[2017-11-21 18:24:42] [ERROR] [Launcher] Failed to launch.

Am I missing something?
Title: Re: Can't get custom launcher to work
Post by: Agent47 on November 21, 2017, 04:39:27 PM
I don't think I've encountered that error message before but could it be a possible permissions issue if RL is set to run as admin and RetroFE isn't?

Edit: I just noticed the "from within folder" line is naming the exe instead of the parent folder. Not sure if that's related to the launch issue or if that's just a logging bug.
Title: Re: Can't get custom launcher to work
Post by: Multiplexer on November 21, 2017, 04:59:43 PM
Hi,

Try using \ instead of / for your executable command line

executable = F:\RocketLauncher\RocketLauncher.exe
Title: Re: Can't get custom launcher to work
Post by: Tomkun on November 22, 2017, 08:43:37 AM
Hi,

Try using \ instead of / for your executable command line

executable = F:\RocketLauncher\RocketLauncher.exe

This was the key. Thanks for the tips guys. It doesn't seem to like relative paths either, but it's working with a fixed path.
Title: Re: Can't get custom launcher to work
Post by: Agent47 on November 22, 2017, 03:51:34 PM
Yeah, it needs to be an absolute path. I remember trying a relative path initially but then realized it had to be absolute. Looking at my launcher file it seems I ran into the same issue with the slashes as I'm using backslashes in the executable path but I use forward slashes everywhere else.